Stewards & Officers

Elected Officers of OPSEU Local 561

(term ends December, 2020)

  • Janice Hagan, President
  • Mary Kernohan, 1st Vice President
  • Ahmedali Chakera, 2nd Vice President
  • Xiaoyan Wang, Vice President – Full-Time Grievances
  • Denis Martinez, Vice President – Part-Time Grievances
  • Virginia DiMonte, Treasurer
  • June Lewis, Membership Secretary
  • Cindy Cyrus,Recording Secretary
  • Trustees:  Laxmi Gambhir,  Erika Roy


King Campus

  • Cindy Cyrus, Admissions and Records Advisor
  • Lerna Francisco, Admissions and Records Advisor
  • Marc Combetto, Admissions and Records Advisor
  • Nick Crandell, Student Advisor
  • Pari Gaza, Student Services Coordinator
  • Sajid Patel, Computer Support Specialist
  • Shelly Ferguson, Admissions and Records Advisor

Markham Campus

  • Ahmed Chakera, ITS Computer Support Specialist
  • Denis Martinez, Part-Time, Athletics Service Officer
  • Guokai Wang, Programmer Analyst
  • Imtiaz Latif, Programmer Analyst
  • Jeff Luo, ITS Application Administrator
  • Kathy Creighton, Engagement Specialist, Bridging
  • Usman Ansari, ITS Technical Support
  • Virginia DiMonte, Payroll Administrator

Newnham Campus

  • Basit Mohammed, Part-Time Parking Ambassador
  • Carsten Wuertz, Senior Admissions Advisor
  • Derrick Gunning, Caretaker
  • George Michailidis, Computer Support Specialist
  • Jithin Sebastian, ITS Technical Specialist
  • June Lewis, School of ECET Student Advisor
  • Lacey Levair, Part-Time Career Development Assistant
  • Mary Kernohan, Office Assistant
  • Maya Simon, Lab School RECE Worker
  • Michael London, Senior AV Technician
  • Mojgan Torabi, Part-Time Library Secretary
  • Rod Bemister, Computer Technician
  • Rudy Requena, General Maintenance Worker
  • Ryan Stickle, Senior Technician (Coach), Athletics
  • Ryan Williams, Lab School RECE Worker
  • Tizziana Browne, Part-Time Credit Transfer Support Officer
  • Tracy MacMaster, Reference Technician
  • Wanda English, Mentoring Coordinator
  • Xiaoyan Wang, Market Research Analyst


  • Jake Branch, Aircraft Maintenance Engineer
  • Sean Sertic, Aircraft Maintenance Engineer
  • Sherryl Malcolmson, Part-Time Support Services Officer


  • Adrian Klymenko, Computer Support Specialist
  • Dionne Morrison-Jaisinghani, Part-Time
  • Janice Hagan, Learning Centre Support Officer
  • Mackenzie Jenkins, Part-Time Learning Centre Support Officer
  • Monica Russell, Scheduling Officer
  • Sandra Phoon, Registration & Records Advisor

 Vaughan Campus

  • Carol Ann David, Employment Consultant

 Yorkgate Campus

  • Ashitha Jacob, Part-Time Enrolment Services Rep